Energy Minister installed “development chief” in Alavanyo

The Energy Minister, Peter Amewu, has been recognised in Alavanyo for the role he played in bringing unprecedented development to the area

John Peter Amewu, Minister for Energy, has been installed as “Chief of Development” in the Alavanyo Agorxoe traditional area in the Volta Region with the stool name, Torgbe Agor I.

The colorful installation, which took place on 2 November 2020 at the Alavanyo Agorxoe Community Centre, was graced by a retinue of chiefs and people of the traditional area.

The installation of Amewu as Torgbe Agor I, carried out by the divisional chief of Alavanyo Agorxoe, Torgbe Afenyo, is considered rare since it is not common among the Ewe people to carry out such exercise.

Torgbe Afenyo noted that the former lands minister has brought unprecedented development to their traditional area over the last four years and that, his installation is in recognition of his efforts aimed at bringing measurable development in the area. He further indicated that the people of Alavanyo Agorxoe, are fully backing his bid to become the MP for Hohoe.

In his acceptance speech, Amewu said he is grateful for the honour, adding he will strive to bring more developmental projects to the area.


Amewu was born in Wli Todzi; Hohoe district of the volta region.

Amewu is 48 years old, and holds an MBA (Finance) from University of Ghana. He also has a Post Graduate Degree (Executive MBA in International Energy Industry Management), and Masters in Petroleum Law and Policy from University of Dundee (UK).

He has more than 15 years’ experience in Government, Private Sector, Civil Society and International Development Organizations.

He has participated and undergone several mining professional training and attained various certificates from some of Australia’s prestigious Universities (University of Sydney and University of Western Australia).

In May, 2017, President Nana Akufo-Addo named John Peter Amewu as part of nineteen ministers who would form his cabinet. The names of the 19 ministers were submitted to the Parliament of Ghana and announced by the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Prof. Mike Ocquaye. As a Cabinet minister, Amewu is part of the inner circle of the president and is to aid in key decision making activities in the country.

Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online.

Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995

#asaaseradio #TVOL

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button