Election Nerve CentreGhanaHeadlineNewsPolitics

Four NPP MPs file motion for probe into electoral violence since 1993

The motion by the NPP MPs is to counter a similar one filed by six NDC MPs who want investigations into Election 2020 violence

Four MPs of the Majority Caucus have filed a counter motion to demand investigations into election-related violence since 1993.

The parliamentarians also want the House to investigate the ethnic, gender, regional and other sectional backgrounds of persons recruited into the security forces since January 1993. 

They are Majority Chief Whip, Frank Annoh Dompreh, Deputy Majority Leader, Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Abuakwa South MP Samuel Atta Akyea and the Akuapem South MP, Osei Bonsu Amoah.

Their motion follows a similar one filed by six National Democratic Congress (NDC) MPs led by Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu.

The six NDC MPs were requesting an investigation into electoral violence that characterised the 2020 general elections and the role played by some security agencies.

The notice of motion said: “That this honourable House investigates the alleged interferences by some members of the security agencies and some vigilante groups before, during and after presidential and general elections since 1993 resulting in the injuries and loss of lives and make consequential recommendations.”

Reacting to the counter motion, Sam Nartey George, MP for Ningo Prampram said the motion by the majority is an attempt to undermine the effectiveness of the investigations into the 2020 election violence which might as well be extended to the pre-colonial era.

Meanwhile, MP for Nhyiaeso, Stephen Amoah said electoral violence should not be tolerated irrespective of when it occurred hence the motion to have an extended investigation.

Asaase Radio 99.5 – tune in or log on to broadcasts online
Follow us on Twitter: @asaaseradio995

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button